Summer under the Stars – Catherine Ferguson

ENGLISH REVIEW (KIJK SNEL EVEN HIER VOOR MIJN NEDERLANDSE REVIEW!)

Summer Under the Stars was a book that caught my attention because of the beautiful cover. I absolutely loved the colors and the cuteness. And when I saw that it was recommended for fans of Holly Martin, I knew I needed to get my hands on it.

I have absolutely no idea who made the comparison with Holly Martin, but I can’t say I agree. This book is nowhere near the quality of Holly’s stories. It is chick lit at his best, predictable, not very original and full of insta-love.

But let’s start off with some good comments on this book. I really enjoyed the writing style. Catherine Ferguson has a very pleasant way of telling a story. Her story really flows and is enjoyable to read.

Apart from that I also enjoyed the story-line about Daisy grieving her mother and looking for her birth-mother. The feelings she was experiencing felt real and really touched my heart. But to be honest this was the only arc in the story that was really worth exploring.

The romance in this book was just… wrong on so many levels. There is of course the relationship between Daisy and Toby when the book starts. And I think a blind man can see that there wasn’t really any relationship to begin with. They had nothing in common, zero connection and even less than zero chemistry. Their whole relationship felt like a plot device. On one hand to let Daisy talk about how she misses her mother and how much she loves Toby’s mother. On the other hand to get Daisy to go glamping. (Because of course why would a single girl go glamping! No she needs a boyfriend who hates nature to go glamping with.) The way the relationship evolved made me want to throw the book away in pure frustration. An absolute no go for me.

And then there is of course the new love interest that needs to spice things up a bit and put Daisy in a difficult, emotional position. Well done, because after one cup op Jake’s nettle tea she falls head over heels in love with him. That must have been one powerful cup of tea. Insta-love all over the place. And honestly I wouldn’t be complaining if that insta-love romance wasn’t so incredible meh. Again no chemistry, no moments of passion… nothing.

Overall I think this book is best described as “meh”. It wasn’t all too bad. A very quick read, with almost no worthy story-line. It doesn’t stand out at all. A very mediocre book that won’t break any pots. Such a shame because the cover is simply gorgeous.

WAT VOND IK VAN A SUMMER UNDER THE STARS?

Summer Under the Stars is een boek dat onmiddelijk mijn aandacht trok vanwege de prachtige cover. Ik viel onmiddelijk voor de kleuren en de schattige tekening op de voorpagina. En toen ik zag dat het boek werd aangeraden voor fans van Holly Martin, moest ik het natuurlijk te pakken krijgen!

Ik heb geen idee wie de vergelijking met Holly Martin heeft gemaakt. Maar jongens, ze konden er niet verder naast zitten. Summer Under the Stars haalt op geen enkel moment het niveau van Holly haar verhalen. Het is klassieke chicklit, mateloos voorspelbaar, niet erg origineel en vooral vol met instalove.

Maar laten we ook iets positief zeggen over het boek. Ik vond de schrijfstijl wel fijn. Catherine Ferguson heeft een heel vlotte schrijfstijl en dit was fijn om te lezen.

Daarnaast vond ik de verhaallijn over de rouwperiode van Daisy en haar zoektocht naar haar echte moeder ook wel interessant. De gevoelens die ze had voelde realistisch aan en ik leefde echt met haar mee. Maar om heel eerlijk te zijn, dit is het enige onderdeel van het verhaal dat echt de moeite waard was om te lezen.

En dan de romantiek in dit boek… daar wordt de bal echt volledig misgeslagen. Allereerst is er natuurlijk de starten romance tussen Daisy en Toby. Ik denk dat een blinde kan zien dat hun relatie niet echt geloofwaardig is. Ze hebben niets gemeenschappelijk. Elke vorm van aantrekkingskracht ontbreekt. Hun hele relatie voelt als een mechanisme om het verhaal op gang te brengen. Enerzijds om Daisy te kunnen laten praten over hoezeer ze haar moeder mist en hoeveel ze wel niet van Toby’s moeder houdt. Maar ook om ervoor te zorgen dat Daisy op kampeervakantie gaat. (Wat het is natuurlijk ondenkbaar dat een single meisje op kampeer vakantie zou gaan. Neen, daar hebben we echt een man voor nodig! Liefst een man die de natuur haat! Logisch toch!) Mijn haar ging ook helemaal rechtstaan naarmate hun relatie groeit in het boek. Echt een absolute dikke vette neen voor mij !

En dan hebben we het nog niet gehad over Jake, het mannelijke exemplaar dat van aan de kant van het meer Daisy in verleiding moet brengen. Hij maakt kennelijk geweldige thee, want na een klein kopje netelthee spreken we al over liefde. Klassiek gevalletje instalove. En eerlijk, ik zou het nog door de vingers willen zien als ik ook maar een beetje chemie tussen Daisy en Jake voelde…; Maar jammer genoeg is er geen enkel gevoel van passie of romantiek.  wasn’t so incredible meh. Again no chemistry, no moments of passion… nothing.

Ik kan het boek niet anders samenvatten dan een dikke, vette “meh”. Het was niet slecht. Het was vooral snel te lezen en het ontbrak een deftige verhaallijn. Het is een gevalletje van dertien in een dozijn. Jammer want de cover was zo veelbelovend.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s